Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee supports the strategic direction of Columbia World Projects and helps evaluate project proposals that are developed in the Fora — expert meetings convened to identify projects to address fundamental challenges facing humanity. The Committee helps determine whether the most promising proposals developed in each Forum meet Columbia World Projects criteria, provides recommendations on which ideas merit further development and identifies key issues and concerns that should be resolved as staff plan how to implement them. The Committee consists of a group of members who serve a fixed term of three years and a smaller set of ex officio members from Columbia University leadership who have no set term. The current members of the Columbia World Projects Advisory Committee are:

Salman Ahmed

Senior Fellow, Geoeconomics & Strategy, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Armen Avanessians

CIO, Quantitative Investment Strategies, Goldman Sachs Asset Management

Rob Berschinski

Senior Vice President for Policy, Human Rights First

Sarah Cleveland

Louis Henkin Professor of Human and Constitutional Rights, Columbia Law School

Jared Cohen

CEO, Jigsaw; Adjunct Senior Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations

Michael Doyle

University Professor, Columbia University

Christopher Fomunyoh

Senior Associate for Africa and Regional Director, National Democratic Institute for International Affairs

Farah Jasmine Griffin

Ransford Professor of English & Comparative Literature and African-American Studies, Columbia University

Jacob Hacker

Resor Professor of Political Science; Director, Institution for Social & Policy Studies, Yale

Jeremy Konyndyk

Senior Policy Fellow, Center for Global Development

Jack Lew

Visiting Professor of International and Public Affairs, SIPA, Columbia University

Tara McGuinness

Senior Fellow - Cities and Innovation, New America 

Maria Victoria Murillo

Professor of Political Science and International and Public Affairs, Columbia University

Alondra Nelson

Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies, Columbia University; President, Social Science Research Council

Kate Orff

Associate Professor and Director, Urban Design Program, GSAPP, Columbia University

Anthony Shorris

Weinberg Visiting Professor, Princeton University; Former First Deputy Mayor, City of New York

Jack Snyder

Robert and Renée Belfer Professor of International Relations, Columbia University

Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic

University Professor; The Mikati Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Medicine, Columbia University


Ex Officio, from Columbia:

Wafaa El-Sadr

Director, ICAP at Columbia University; University Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine; Mathilde Krim-amfAR Professor of Global Health

Alexander N. Halliday

Director, Earth Institute; Professor of Earth and Environmental Science

Safwan Masri

Executive Vice President for Global Centers and Global Development

Mike Purdy

Executive Vice President for Research; Professor of Earth & Environmental Sciences

Maya Tolstoy

Interim Executive Vice President and Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences

James J. Valentini

Dean, Columbia College; Vice President for Undergraduate Education

Jeannette Wing

Avanessians Director of the Data Science Institute; Professor of Computer Science